top of page

Look I am Your Fascia


Many people draw a blank and look at you crazy when the first hear you utter "fascia". The next thing is the million dollar question... "what is that?" It was hard to wrap my head around it when i was in massage school, that my body contains this mysterious....thing...surrounding my organs and muscles! But fascia is very real and has a central and fundamental purpose in our bodies. A lot of times when I try to educate my clients about fascia I take it to the kitchen. Who hasn't had a run in with cleaning chicken? I tell them, "you know that film on the chicken?" To which they nod. "Well that's fascia." What many people don't know including myself, until a few days ago, is fascia surround EVERYTHING. Every nerve, blood vessel, muscle, muscle fiber, bone, and even down to the cells. it not only surrounds everything, but is woven into everything in its function or surrounding EVERYTHING. They are also discovering in the medical field that fascia may be innervated and contain contractile cells. Lucky for you massage therapy addresses this very thing due to the fact that it is part of the soft tissue gambit that massage therapy works with. So when stressed it can constrict, It can get caught and stuck and it can get tough and dry. So drink plenty of water to keep hydrated, get massages, incorporate movement of your body daily living and practice a bit of yoga, pilates, or other dynamic stretch and range of motion practices.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Yelp - Black Circle
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page